Music is the Muse

I really think I have a music addiction.  Seriously, everything I do requires a soundtrack.  And if I don’t physically create one, you can guarantee that there’s musical accompaniment in my head 24/7.  Ask The Roommate, I even take music into the bathroom.  Is it a sickness? Maybe.  But I’m positive I’m not the only person in the world who wishes they had a band following them playing their theme song like this dude:

Considering NaNoWriMo is less than 24 hours away [cue freakout scream], I feel  relatively prepared.  Out of all the things I wanted to do in advance–character sketches, outlines, scheduled word counts–I obsessed the most over my playlists.  I know some people have a hard time writing with any kind of distraction, but music definitely fuels my creativity.  With the right song as a backdrop, I can easily immerse myself in the proper mood, feeling and mindset to crank out serious wordage, and that’s exactly what I need to hit my goal of 100,000 words.

As I write this, song choices are swirling in my head and there’s a voice saying, “Your main character needs one more playlist…”

*sigh*

I guess admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery.

By the way, my overall NaNo theme song is Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ on a Prayer.”  Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Music is the Muse”

  1. Music seems to be important to a lot of writers! Sometimes I put my headphones on with instrumental music to block out other distractions, but if it has lyrics, I end up singing along instead of writing – oh well! Thanks for buddying me on Nano. Back to my word count now!

    Like

  2. @Ticara – I have that same problem! Making playlists is like instant gratification for me so I have more of them than anything. But I love crafting them, the quest for the perfect song, the thrill when you discover new music. I guess that’s the sound design nerd in me coming out to play!

    @stigmata script – Movie scores are brilliant for writing! During last year’s Nano, I had the music from “Run, Lola, Run” on heavy rotation.

    @Tricia – If you need music suggestions mid-month, just let me know!

    Like

  3. Next year, I’m going to be more organized. And that will include learning how to make playlists for my overall story, let alone my characters. I am in AWE of people who have multiple playlists going. I know I’m going to grow tired of my music by mid-Nov and THEN what? Sigh… add it to the list of things to freak out about.

    Love the overall NaNo theme tune, BTW…

    Like

  4. I whole-heartedly agree.

    I have an obsessively large movie score collection. *gulp* … including some extremely rare finds. lol It’s tough because I have an obscure taste in music. Nobody seems to get it!

    Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

