Plugging Away

So in the midst of revising and note-scribbling and prepping for NaNo, I’ve also been busying hawking my wares any and every place I can think of.  For the past few weeks that has been in the form of applying for writing-related grants, fellowships and residencies.

I’ve won fellowships and written grants, but I was a newbie to the residency process.  My immediate, knee-jerk reaction was, “I have to pay you for the privilege of possibly being chosen to write in your non-airconditioned log cabin with no running water? Puh-lease!”

After a few moments of more rational contemplation, I realized that it was an attractive proposition.  Who wouldn’t want a few weeks of doing practically nothing except writing? I’m so used to writing around my regular life in pitiful drips and drabs, often to the detriment of sleep and relationships, that uninterrupted stretches of time devoted to getting words on the page sounds like heaven.  Plus many residencies offer stipends or scholarships to help defray costs.  This process forced me to craft compelling ways to describe my work and my goals and is definitely teaching me a few lessons about rejection, but I’m not quitting.  Eventually, I will convince someone to take a chance on me.

I also spent some time on the radio last week on “Up to Date” as one of the Book Doctors.   How awesome that someone actually asked me to spend an hour talking about books and writing! It was slightly surreal, but a cool experience and definitely something I would love to do again.  I’ve been too scared to listen, but the reviews so far have been fairly positive.

So to recap: writing, revising, prepping, talking about writing, submitting, applying, crying, dusting off, trying again.  That just about sums it up.

2 thoughts on “Plugging Away”

    1. I definitely wasn’t down for long. I can’t be, I have three more residency deadlines to meet. 🙂 The fact that I know I’m not the only one helps a great deal. Thanks for your support!

      Like

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

